Should I stick to my original plan?

I’ve come across a slight problem, nothing big though. In the beginning, I had planned to strictly follow each recipe in the book, exactly in order, but I’m not so sure about that anymore. I thought I was a horrible cook, who didn’t really know any basic techniques and was doing everything wrong. Turns out, I might not be so bad, since after looking through the beginning recipes in each section of the book, I think I know how to do that kind of stuff. Sure, if I did make the first recipes, it would be beneficial, since I would be grounding myself in the absolute basics, it might be a bit of a waste of food and money, since those recipes are basically tasteless on their own. For example,

I’m pretty sure I know how to put a chicken breast into the oven with some salt and pepper.

Also, some recipes are recipes that I’ve been making almost everyday with my mom and have plenty of experience with. I think what I’ll do is I will just refer to the book for the proper technique whenever my mom does happen to make a recipe similar. We make this stir fried cabbage in our home quite a lot.

I think what I’m going to end up doing is to skip around a bit, but not too much, I’ll still be generally following the chronology of the book. I’ll probably just have to suck it up, these first few days with some bland recipes. I’ll have to make a trip to the supermarket for sure, so I’ll see what they have in store for me! (no pun intended)

Leave a Reply

