The Easy Part

I’ve finished reading the “Getting Started” section, and I’ve got most of the ingredients and tools needed to start, I might need to buy some additional ingredients as I work my way through though. The techniques section is actually quite interesting, it will be nice for quick reference. I learned that broiling is sort of like grilling, except in the oven, and that it oftentimes only charrs the outside of foods. I also learned how to properly hold a knife, I’ve been doing it wrong all along! Something I realized was that cooking is all about the subtle differences. For example, in saute-ing, make sure the heat isn’t too high, or else you’ll end up stir frying, or in searing, you know it’s browned when it comes off nicely and doesn’t stick.

The last thing in this section was Bittman’s five golden rules of kitchen,

1. Anything you cook at home will be good. (We’ll see about that…)

2. Read the recipe through before starting. (Check! I’m a pretty thorough person, working in chemistry labs has taught me that)

3. It’s okay to serve dishes warm or at room temp. (not really a big problem for me)

4. Trust your senses. (I don’t really have much common sense)

5. Be safe-but not insane- about cleanliness. (I think I’m good on that part too)

Today was the easy part, no cooking involved yet. I’ll start tomorrow morning with breakfast, can’t wait!!

Leave a Reply

